STR Rulebook
Changes

What changed, and when

Every time a figure on this site changes, the previous data file is archived and the difference is recorded here. Nothing is edited in place.

Some revisions are missing. Early on, archive files were named by date only, so two revisions on the same day overwrote each other. These are gone:
  • 2026-10-24 · rev 2 — overwritten by a later revision on the same day
  • 2026-10-24 · rev 3 — overwritten by a later revision on the same day
The history below compares the revisions that survived. The naming has been fixed, so this cannot recur.

A further 6 revisions changed only wording or sourcing, not any figure, and are not listed separately.

2026-10-26rev 12

Seattle, WA

  • If unlicensedEnforcement action for operating without a regulatory license → $500 for the first violation; $1,000 for second and subsequent

2026-10-26rev 11

Boston, MA

  • If unlicensedLicense suspended while a violation exists → $300 per violation per day, plus suspension while the violation exists

2026-10-24rev 9

Added

  • Los Angeles, CA

2026-10-24rev 7

Denver, CO

  • Unit limitnot stated → One party at a time; an ADU only if you live in the main house

New York City, NY

  • Primary residencenot stated → Required — the host must live in the unit and stay there with guests
  • Unit limitnot stated → Entire units barred outside Class B buildings; two guests maximum

2026-10-24rev 5

Boston, MA

  • Occupancy taxnot stated → 14.95% before any community impact fee

Denver, CO

  • Fee — newnot stated → $150
  • Fee — renewalnot stated → $100
  • Termnot stated → 1 year, renewed annually
  • Occupancy taxnot stated → 10.75%
  • If unlicensednot stated → Revocation or sanction, plus 20%–50% late-renewal penalties

Nashville, TN

  • Fee — newnot stated → $313
  • Fee — renewalnot stated → $313
  • Primary residencenot stated → Required for owner-occupied permits
  • Unit limitnot stated → One permit per lot in single-family and two-family zoning
  • If unlicensednot stated → Citations, plus a one-year wait after operating unregistered

San Francisco, CA

  • Occupancy taxnot stated → 14%, plus 2.00%–2.25% TID by zone

2026-10-24rev 4

Added

  • Boston, MA
  • Denver, CO
  • San Francisco, CA
  • Nashville, TN
  • San Diego, CA

New York City, NY

  • Fee — newnot stated → $145
  • Night limits30-day minimum for unregistered units → Unhosted whole-unit stays under 30 days are barred, registered or not